Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Chrisrokc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,667

    2004 GPR not needing Car Sensor Chip???

    I just finished putting the D-plate in and the bike runs with out the chip. Does this mean I don't need one? Or should it run but just in limp mode or something?

    Chris


  2. #2
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,801
    +1
    450
    Did you plug the sensor back in?

    The warning usually comes on after ridden a bit.

  3. #3
    Chrisrokc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,667
    Quote Originally Posted by WFO
    Did you plug the sensor back in?

    The warning usually comes on after ridden a bit.
    I pluged the sensor back in. Hmm, I will just go buy the stuff to over ride it just to be safe.

    I have another question what should I be idling?

  4. #4
    WATER WOODY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Minden, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    10,664
    +1
    11
    You have the cat temp sensor wire plugged in?

  5. #5
    Chrisrokc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,667
    Quote Originally Posted by WATER WOODY
    You have the cat temp sensor wire plugged in?
    yep

  6. #6
    WATER WOODY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Minden, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    10,664
    +1
    11
    Thats how im running mine on the 06' .With the sensor plugged in.I got a code and the buzzer kept going off with the cat temp chip in place.

  7. #7
    GPR FL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    162
    +1
    1
    Me too. No chip required on my 06!

  8. #8
    Chrisrokc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,667
    I am going to go make my own chip with a 1k Omh Resistor and take it out to the lake on friday and see what happens.


    Also what should the idle rpm be?

  9. #9
    Same with my 05. Just put my d-plate on last weekend and with the SIM my buzer went off. Just plugged in my sensor and all is well.

  10. #10
    ABBOTT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Birmingham, AL / Lay Lake
    Posts
    3,736
    +1
    96
    Quote Originally Posted by Chrisrokc
    Quote Originally Posted by WFO
    Did you plug the sensor back in?

    The warning usually comes on after ridden a bit.
    I pluged the sensor back in. Hmm, I will just go buy the stuff to over ride it just to be safe.

    I have another question what should I be idling?
    about 800-100rpms is typical - it's really up to you. I like mine a little high.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Installed d plate and sensor chip in 2004 xlt1200. what a nightmare!!!!
    By Waverunner4Me in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-28-2014, 06:50 AM
  2. FS GPR exchaust sensor chip new $8 shipped
    By jetdave56 in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-09-2010, 07:08 PM
  3. WTB 2000-2004 GPR, Not running
    By KirkF350 in forum Yamaha 2 Stroke Skis
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-29-2009, 02:22 PM
  4. Need left sponson for a 2004 GTX and speed wheel sensor
    By JAG in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 04:31 AM
  5. Air Temp Sensor, 2004 GPR
    By Chrisrokc in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-08-2007, 06:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •