Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

SLT 780 Starting problem! Help Please!

1996 SLT 780 / 296 hours, never had a lick of trouble with ski. Last Summer display quit working and fixed that myself with the help of this forum.

Resealed the elec box after fixing mfd fuse and have not ran ski through the winter except in driveway once a month.

Took to water today and I just get a click or electric sounding tick (Best I can explain the sound). Battery is new showing 12.2 while attempting to start with multi-meter. Took box apart again to see If I could figure out problem myself w/ no manual or internet access while at the lake. Everything in the box, wires etc, looks to be connected well.

Narrowed the electric sound or click to the start relay and if I place my finger on it can feel it thump, or try to turn etc (obviously I am not a mechanic).

I am hoping this is the problem, if not please help me out if anyone can. Price of parts, who has them for sale, on forum or otherwise etc.

Thanks again to everyone on this site and those responsible for it's creation and upkeep.

Pain is fear leaving your body.... rlovebk's Avatar
    +1
    Hi. When mine did this last year I was the conection to the battery. Try light sanding the lugs that you attach your cables to on the battery. If not, you may have a bad battery. Even if it shows 12.2, it may not have the cranking amps avail. that it needs. Try the contact prob. though. My slt did the exact same thing, and I was ready to order a new selenoid.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    Check your ground connection is clean and tight.

Another option may be the starter bendix is stuck also.

Try putting 12V to the starter directly and see if it engages. If it does, it's not the bendix.

CAUTION: there WILL be sparks, so don't have gas vapors floating around when you try this!!!!!!!!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1