Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    mclarenGP1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    152

    yamaha GP1200 '98 locking code

    hey when u enter the code on a gp1200 and then it says locked should the ski even start or?


    coz mine i i put the code in and it still starts
    just wondering if anyhone could help me
    thanks


  2. #2
    cheatin' piston popper addicted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    north jersey
    Posts
    6,188
    +1
    176
    if it says lock when you hit the mode button it should not crank at all. if it says start it should start. default code is AAAA

  3. #3
    mclarenGP1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by addicted View Post
    if it says lock when you hit the mode button it should not crank at all. if it says start it should start. default code is AAAA

    yeah thats the problem when its locked it still starts it starts both ways locked and start
    would u know how i cold fix this problem?
    thanks

  4. #4
    cheatin' piston popper addicted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    north jersey
    Posts
    6,188
    +1
    176
    the connectors coming off the gauge and start switch are probably not hooked up right. I don't remember exactly, but there are 2 pairs of the same plugs. if you have the start switch going directly to the plug that goes to the electrical box, you bypass the security system. to work, it needs to go start switch to gauge, gauge to electrical box.

  5. #5
    mclarenGP1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by addicted View Post
    the connectors coming off the gauge and start switch are probably not hooked up right. I don't remember exactly, but there are 2 pairs of the same plugs. if you have the start switch going directly to the plug that goes to the electrical box, you bypass the security system. to work, it needs to go start switch to gauge, gauge to electrical box.



    so that means to get to those wires i need to take of that piece of body out and the steerring right?
    thanks
    or is there another way without taking off that piece

  6. #6
    cheatin' piston popper addicted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    north jersey
    Posts
    6,188
    +1
    176
    nothing needs to come apart. just find teh harness that comes from the gauge. i think it's behind the front bucket.

  7. #7
    mclarenGP1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by addicted View Post
    nothing needs to come apart. just find teh harness that comes from the gauge. i think it's behind the front bucket.


    would u know where i could get some diagrams maybe a site online?
    to help me out
    thx for the fast replies buddy

  8. #8
    cheatin' piston popper addicted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    north jersey
    Posts
    6,188
    +1
    176
    the search button is your friend

    RX951's signature

    http://www.mediafire.com/ServiceManuals

  9. #9
    Old Ski Insanity w/rpm500's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Crystal River Fl
    Posts
    2,208
    wires on a gp are behind the front bucket,down low..
    as per the gp shop manual...code re enter sequence

    1. split the blue 1 pin coupler (at the bucket front)
    warning lamp at center of cluster will blink
    2. press mode button (button lower left)for more than 3 seconds,..
    warning lamp (center) blinks .(informing you memory input is ready)...
    CODE is displayed on RH gauge and blinks..
    3. enter 4 digits via combo of the 3 RH input buttons
    4. if your buzzer works it will sound as they are entered..
    5. center lamp will light and A/B/C will display .. then after a second or two SET will display on the RH gauge,and the buzzer will confirm this with 3 buzzes and START will then display..

    6. the display then clears and the center warning lamp will blink

    reconect the blue one pin connector
    warning lamp will shut off..

    you should now have stored the new code..

  10. #10
    mclarenGP1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by w/rpm500 View Post
    wires on a gp are behind the front bucket,down low..
    as per the gp shop manual...code re enter sequence

    1. split the blue 1 pin coupler (at the bucket front)
    warning lamp at center of cluster will blink
    2. press mode button (button lower left)for more than 3 seconds,..
    warning lamp (center) blinks .(informing you memory input is ready)...
    CODE is displayed on RH gauge and blinks..
    3. enter 4 digits via combo of the 3 RH input buttons
    4. if your buzzer works it will sound as they are entered..
    5. center lamp will light and A/B/C will display .. then after a second or two SET will display on the RH gauge,and the buzzer will confirm this with 3 buzzes and START will then display..

    6. the display then clears and the center warning lamp will blink

    reconect the blue one pin connector
    warning lamp will shut off..

    you should now have stored the new code..

    the thing is that i dont have a porblem with wrong codes i know the code
    it just starts even when it says LOCKED
    I dont think its an issue with the code coz when i enter the code it says locked but still cranks
    thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 98 Yamaha GP1200 65U CDI Needed
    By brblommel in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-28-2013, 10:22 PM
  2. 98 Yamaha gp1200 stator replacement
    By RickT in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-16-2013, 05:22 AM
  3. lock code for 98 gp1200
    By mclarenGP1200 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-02-2009, 08:22 AM
  4. Parting out a '98 Yamaha GP1200
    By jetmaniac in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-20-2008, 02:08 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-17-2007, 11:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •