Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: lost rpm update

  1. #1
    MDGPR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    238
    +1
    1

    lost rpm update

    About a month ago i posted about missing rpms. I was at 6600 and my efi settings was 3-5-1-5, my impeller was all dinged up, my jetworks valve didnt have a ball in it and i thought i had bad plugs. a motnh later i get my imepller back ,get a new JW valve inquire about tuning the efi and put in new br8es-11 plugs. I took it out today and i only ran 6200 rpms. After i tried a couple of different efi settings i realized i had alot of play in my throttle cable. So i tightened the cable at the lever perch. i re ran through all my suggested efi settings and these were the results..

    settings-------------rpm

    6-6-1-9----------------6726

    6-6-2-9-----------------6720

    5-5-1-8-----------------6750

    2-1-6-6-----------------6726


    my only thought is there is still some play in the throttle cable, is there another adjustment on the other end of the cable?

    If thats not it my two solutions are take it to someone who knows more then me or take all the engine mods off and leave all the pump on and have my ride plate moded and leave it at that.

    any one have any solutions?

    also just want to say thanks alot for all the help everyoone has given me. i appreciate it alot.


  2. #2
    ABBOTT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Birmingham, AL / Lay Lake
    Posts
    3,736
    +1
    96
    after trying all of that. You may have a prop that is too tall in there. Your rpms seem wayyyy low no matter what seetings your trying, so i am wondering if that non-ported motor has enough power to turn the prop??

    You might not want to run it again because you can have pre-detonation in the cylinders being that low.

    Even with terrible EFI settings, you should be busting out 7,000 + even on your worst day. I would start with the prop and try maybe a 13/19 DF.

    ***Remember that a concord 14/20 and a DF 14/20 are totally different and it takes much more power to turn the DF Prop at that pitch as it does the Concord 14/20 (like on the 2000-2004 models).

  3. #3
    MDGPR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    238
    +1
    1
    what exactly is porting? would heads be a solution?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    South MS
    Posts
    1,095
    I would say something is wrong.
    My '06 turned a 14/20 dynafly 6860rpm without ANY engine mods. Only a riva plate and 800 grate it ran 70.2mph.

    After d-plate, filter, efi it turned it 7110rpm at 72mph+


    Have you tried the stock prop with your mods? What does it turn?
    I would try that first.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    South MS
    Posts
    1,095
    Heads didn't really give me anymore rpms on top, just better pull.

  6. #6
    MDGPR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    238
    +1
    1
    havent tried stock yet, will as soon as i can get back out on the water

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Caroline , VA
    Posts
    107
    +1
    1
    I have almost the same setup on my 04 1300, except the free flow.
    Im turning 70.4 at 7120 rpms over on the patuxant river, and at lake gaston.
    Where in the aqualand area would you find smooth water to test out your ski?
    Its always 6" to 2 foot chop around there, unless you go way back into nanjemoy creek.

    On a side note, I swapped rides with an Rxp owner today, I was impressed
    with power and its ability to cut thru the chop , BUT damn, I never liked
    Sea-doo steering angle. The ski also felt very narrow , and the seat made me
    feel like I was looking from a lifeguard chair

  8. #8
    txgp1300r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dallas , Texas
    Posts
    3,382
    +1
    165
    i think you do need the heads......im turning 7180 rpm in texas (its hot)

  9. #9
    DAGO RACING CREW 97GPSLEEPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Orange, TX
    Posts
    4,228
    +1
    169
    Porting involves modifying the size and shape of the exhaust and intake ports in the cylinders. Porting does help with RPM's. An aftermarket head or milling the stock head does really not have any effect on RPM's, however it does help with responsiveness and midrange pull. On a 4-stroke port work is done to heads by reshaping the area around the valves for better flow, on a 2-stroke porting is done to the cylinders.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    panama city beach 'fl
    Posts
    1,846
    +1
    9
    did you try the 6-1-9-6 setting setting

    later cd

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Lost RPM, where did it go???
    By DandSPro in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-09-2006, 06:08 PM
  2. RXP lost rpms
    By RedRyderRXP in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 07-13-2006, 12:59 AM
  3. Lost RPM after installing RIVA Power Filter...help!
    By RXP-REX in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-29-2006, 06:39 PM
  4. lost rpms
    By MDGPR in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-19-2006, 03:07 AM
  5. lost rpms after fiting solas 14/19
    By Top banana in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 06:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •