Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pensacola Fl
    Posts
    235
    +1
    1

    Vac line on a R&D BOV

    Does this line have to be hooked up the map sensor or can you cap it off at the BOV and not use the vac line as R&D suggested?


  2. #2
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by spinaker View Post
    Does this line have to be hooked up the map sensor or can you cap it off at the BOV and not use the vac line as R&D suggested?
    Map sensor? What does your map sensor have to do with installing a BOV?

  3. #3
    Boilerman Bill BPnta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Yulee, FL
    Posts
    887
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by spinaker View Post
    Does this line have to be hooked up the map sensor or can you cap it off at the BOV and not use the vac line as R&D suggested?
    That line operates the BOV. If you capped it off, the BOV would stay closed all the time.

  4. #4
    Not sure I fully understand what you are asking but, you have to have the vacuum line and you also have to have the map sensor. the bov will not function without the vac line and the engine will not function without the map sensor. hope this helps.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pensacola Fl
    Posts
    235
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by allstar71 View Post
    Not sure I fully understand what you are asking but, you have to have the vacuum line and you also have to have the map sensor. the bov will not function without the vac line and the engine will not function without the map sensor. hope this helps.
    R&D told me that I could just cap it off at the BOV but alot of you guys say different. No telling who answered that phone call. I didnt buy the pressure port adaptor so I couldnt hook up the vac line. Could you just tee off the short hose running up to the map sensor or does the pressure port adaptor do something other than tee off that line, that Im not understanding? Thanks

  6. #6
    Boilerman Bill BPnta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Yulee, FL
    Posts
    887
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by spinaker View Post
    R&D told me that I could just cap it off at the BOV but alot of you guys say different. No telling who answered that phone call. I didnt buy the pressure port adaptor so I couldnt hook up the vac line. Could you just tee off the short hose running up to the map sensor or does the pressure port adaptor do something other than tee off that line, that Im not understanding? Thanks
    The pressure port adaptor does exactly what you said, it tees the sensing line to the map sensor.

    You need that line to operate the BOV! If you just cap it off it won't open when the throttle closes. When that line is at atmospgeric pressure or greater, it closes the BOV. When under a vacuum, it opens the BOV!

  7. #7
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    What everyone else has said is correct. Leave your map sensor alone. The engine managment system depends on it. You also need a vacuum line to operate a BOV. Maybe R&D meant is that you could just cap off the small nub (where the BOV would mount to their charge tube) and not run one (a BOV) at all. Not sure but I don't think they would have given you incorrect information. Must be a miscommunication.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pensacola Fl
    Posts
    235
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by bpnta View Post
    The pressure port adaptor does exactly what you said, it tees the sensing line to the map sensor.

    You need that line to operate the BOV! If you just cap it off it won't open when the throttle closes. When that line is at atmospgeric pressure or greater, it closes the BOV. When under a vacuum, it opens the BOV!
    So can I use my own tee or do you have to use the PP adaptor? Thanks for the response too.

  9. #9
    you can use your own t. make sure to clamp/ziptie them well you dont want them to come off...

  10. #10
    fussy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    550
    +1
    8
    We used our own tee, got a tee from a hardware shop that sold home irrigation systems fits nicely between sensor and manifold. Works great.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. where can i find a vac line on a 03 gtx
    By FL03GTX in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-20-2007, 06:56 PM
  2. Where Do You Draw The Line On Mods
    By JFizzleJR in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 11:13 PM
  3. Where do you get the rubber caps for blocking the fuel lines on the carbs?
    By commander in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2007, 02:16 AM
  4. anyone have a line on one of these?
    By skillet in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-05-2007, 10:04 PM
  5. cooling lines on the old 99model GP's
    By ozzygp in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 07:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •