Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Gp1200r help please!

Alright, I bought a 2001 Gp1200R about a month ago. After a short test ride I thought I had a pretty good deal. Yesterday it turned into a death ski. The throttle stuck in a crowded area on the most crowded boat day of the year. I posted something about the sticky throttle yesterday. Ive been reading that these GPR's are notorious for this. I took off the swivel plate that holds the throttle cable and oil injection cable. Today I went to check my oil injection cable to find that it was totally frozen. I pulled the cable and it wont move for anything. Has anyone ever seen this happen? Any suggestions? For now I just want to put the cables back on like they were. If this is a hard problem to fix I have considered an oil block off kit.

I am totally new to this ski stuff so any thing will help.
    Thanks, Jerry

Did I post this in the wrong place? Cant get any replies .

oil cable siezed?
    throttle stuck wide open?

sounds like this will be just the start, sounds very much like a ski not looked after very well.

the throttles can stick due to the pivot shaft in a carb sticking, or can be from a corroded throttle cable.

anything is possible if the ski has not had proper maintenance.

The throttle cable is working fine now. It only gets sticky when it is hot. For now my oil injection able is stuck and will not move.

I would remove the oil injection & go premix but if you really want to keep it remove it & inspect everything & replace whats faulty if you need some oil injection parts let me know i have heaps of them just cover shipping.

But no ideas on why this thing would just lock up over night from being disconnected? It worked fine before I took it off...

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by GP1200 R View Post
    But no ideas on why this thing would just lock up over night from being disconnected? It worked fine before I took it off...