Need some help with my 97 XP

Hey guys, havent been on here in a while. but i guess the time has come to ask for some help as the season is back in swing. we took the 98 XPL and the 97 XP down to Ft. Lauderdale (first time they have gone into salt water), to go see my brother and to get them out on the water for the first time this season. I got them running while on the trailer and when we got there they were running fine. we took them out and ran them around all day long. the problems came the next day...

We kept them in the water over night (which i have never done before). and when i went down the next morning to check on them the hull of the 97 XP was filled with about 3 inches of water (up to the bottom of the battery tray). the 98 XPL did not have nearly as much water in it but still had a significant amount. i put the key on and let the bilge do its job. once pumped out, i used the XPL to tow the XP over to the ramp to get it on the trailer to drain it.