Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    12

    Only get 52 -55MPH

    Hey guys I have a 2000 GP1200R. Stock I could get it to 57MPH. Now I put on a RIVA stage II with Jetworks (ferchos version) although I have considerably more low and mid range I top out at 53MPH .
    Should I be going faster?
    I have not modified carbs in any way past installing flame arresters


  2. #2
    big83bronco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Macon, GA
    Posts
    326
    Check your pump tunnel!!!!!!!!!!!!! Also check to see if your pump shoe is hanging too low, this is the first sign that teh pump shoe is pullign out!

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Texas City, Texas
    Posts
    1,249
    +1
    15
    If youhave the stage II set up, you really do need to modify your jetting to deal with increased compression from the head and flame arrestors which give a different signal (weaker) than the stock box.

    Otherwise, your boat will get sick very quickly.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    214
    Is that speed verified by GPS or are you using the stock speedometer readings?

    Eric

  5. #5
    Moderator RX951's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    League City, Texas
    Posts
    16,066
    +1
    23
    Are those GPS speeds?

    Also, what are your RPM's ?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NW Houston
    Posts
    74
    WOW, you are flying!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    12
    spped checked with stock speedo I dont have a tiny tach and the stock is hard to read. I will get back to you on RPM

  8. #8
    THE PLATE MAN JIM'S PERFORMANCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,194
    +1
    536
    Hello croskel, Do not go by the stock speedo. You have to verify it with a gps to get a true speed. A aftermarket tach will be good to make sure your in your rpm range.

  9. #9
    Flying Scotsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    IllINOIS
    Posts
    6,514
    +1
    4
    Correct get a tach and a gps.

    You still lost speed.

    Were you into the pump rideplate area ?

    SCOTT.......................

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. GP1200R Stage 2 Only getting 63.7 on GPS
    By Waveraider760 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-31-2008, 07:41 PM
  2. Only getting 6300 RPM's
    By BIGJV RXT in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-29-2007, 11:29 AM
  3. Runs fine but still only getting 55ish
    By jahkneefive in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-27-2007, 01:33 PM
  4. HELP: only getting 7900 7950 RPM's
    By majundecid in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-16-2007, 01:02 PM
  5. Whooops... only getting 116 compression!?
    By Phil in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-04-2005, 03:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •