Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Banned User
    +1

RXT-iS My first ride and impressions

Today, I got my first chance to ride the 2009 SeaDoo RXT-Is. For those that don't know me, I have a SeaDoo RXT-X, and put about 105 hours on it last year.
    Also, I've been riding jet ski's since 1976, and have ridden most every make and model.

So, here goes; when you start the boat up, it starts in neutral, which is pretty cool. You pull in the left hand lever, and this engages reverse. So far so good.
    I engage reverse, and go to back it off the trailer and notice something strange with the steering; it's backwards!!! When you turn the bars to the right, the nose swings right, and the back end swings left. This is the exact opposite of every ski I've ever ridden with a reverse.
    This caused some "interesting" moments to say the least, when I was trying to dock the thing, but I guess SeaDoo figured we need a more sensible reverse. Or, maybe it has something to do with the braking system, and still being able to turn.

I had a full tank of gas, and hours at my disposal. The weather this morning was temps in the low 80's, humid, and the wind was just howling-30+mph. Good day to test out this suspension thingy.

I headed out from Windsor dock, and noticed straight away the ride was much smoother than my RXT-X, which I had just ridden yesterday. Well, its supposed to be that way. More on that later.

The first thing I tried to play with was the cruise control. You hold in the cruise button with your right thumb while trying to maintain a constant rpm above 3000. Well this proved to be damn near impossible in the chop.

As I rounded the island, I decided to speed up a bit. Now the wind is out of the south, so I'm getting hit full force by the wind and waves. Also, it's Friday, so the boat traffic is starting to pick up.