Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question 96 slt 780 display problems (help)

hi im a newbie and i just bought a 96 slt 780 polaris but i have a problem with the display. first the display didn't work so i look'd at the electrical box and i replaced a broken 3amp fuse, after that i tried the display again and it was working for about 30 sec. but then it turned off again. so i looke'd at the electrical box again but everything was good i even check'd the voltage to the display and it says 12v. so i don't know what the problem could be please help. thanks

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk

Click here for the downloadable Polaris Service Manuals.

The 3 Amp fuse inside the electrical box is for the bilge pump. There is a separate 1/4 Amp fuse for the MFD display in the electrical box.

There should be zero moisture inside the box, and no corrosion on the terminal board (front or back) or the wire connectors.

How did you check the power to the MFD display?

i have checkt the electrical box and it has no moisture in it and i checked and replaced all fuses. there was some corrosion on the connector for the MFD so i cleand it but still nothing.
    i used a digital multitester and i connected the red/purple to the batteries positive and the black to the negative.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by bbah111 View Post
    i have checked the electrical box and it has no moisture in it and i checked and replaced all fuses.

there was some corrosion on the connector for the MFD so i cleaned it but still nothing.

i used a digital multi-tester and i connected the red/purple to the batteries positive and the black to the negative.
    So you checked the voltage at the battery posts, not at the actual MFD wire harness connector?

The MFD connector has a Red/Purple and a Black wire. If you have the 8-pin MFD then that would be pins 1 and 2.