Middle Tn

2000 Genesis Burning Piston

I am new to the PWC world and i have a 2000 genesis that is carb and last year the 3rd cylinder(rear one) keep having a loose spark plug .I would tighten it up and ride on then by the time i get back it was loose again.After about a week of this i had a bad miss and no power, i investigated and found i had no compression that cylinder ,so i tore it down and found i had a hole burnt in the piston.I then went ahead and tore all of them down bored to next oversize and put all new rings pistons and pins and bearings .It ran great and very strong .i put it up for the winter got it back out this summer rode it all weekend and then came back the next weekend to ride and after about 30 mins i had a bad miss again, plug was loose and no compression again! I need some help as to why (1) is the plug keep loosing up , i have looked at the thread and they are fine on the machine and the spark plug.(2) why do i keep burning pistons on that cylinder?is the loose plug leaning it out so bad its burning the piston before i can find it? Thanks in advance for any help .This site has great info.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada
    Welcome back
    Did you run the rebuilt engine for all of the 2008 riding season, without trouble?

Are you using the correct spark plugs for the engine, NGK BR9ES ?

Do you have the Polaris Service manual for your 2000 Genesis, which can be download from here.

There are also links from there to the Polaris Service Bulletins, Repair Services and lots of other useful info.

If the PTO (rear) spark plug keeps getting loose, you may want to simply replace that cylinder head with another good one - used or new.

You can look up the part number, and what other years and models used the same parts, on the Polaris Industries parts cross reference web site.