Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Newby here with MFD issues... read forum front to back

Hello all, I have a 96 SLX 780 recently acquired. I am no mechanic or elec. technicial but somewhat resourceful.

History:
    Battery cables reversed briefly then corrected, not attempted to start.
    Ski had no battery cover and test ran while elec. box directly on top of battery.
    Ski shut off and no power.
    Found short in 30 amp fuse in visible wiring harness, replaced fuse.
    Found blown fuse in elec. box...It was 4 amp not 1/4! Replaced with 1/4 amp fast acting.
    No visible moisture or contact issues in elec. box
    Used meter to check plug for MFD. Ground to black pin and red to check all others. Only the tan pin showed power all others nothing.
    Battery now covered and no contact with elec. box.
    New battery, Ski runs well but MFD remains dead.
    I am hoping someone could give advice on how best to check that power is getting to MFD and any diagnostic help before trying to find another MFD. Thanks

+1
    Sounds like you got a nice burst of current there when the battery was reversed and there was A 4 AMP FUSE IN! That might have fried you MFD. In the mean time take off the foam around the handlebars to access the back of the MFD. Unplug the harness from the back of the MFD, wait 15 seconds then plug back in. (This is the hard reset for the MFD) If the battery sits out of the ski for too long the MFD will shut off and need to be reset this way. It happened on my 96 SLX. Post back and let us know whats up. If that doesnt work I am sure someone can tell you what wires you need to trace.
    Viper

thanks AT Viper

After reading all the forums, I did try to reset the MFD by disconecting the plug, I was hoping it would resolve but no success.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by covy View Post
    Hello all, I have a 96 SLX 780 recently acquired.