Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Talking nearly perfect 2000 Polaris SLH my First! Questions

Hello,

I recently purchased my first PWC. It was a close friends neighbors who rode it but very moderately. It has nearly no rust or anything wrong with it. After cleaning the fuel and oil tanks, lines etc... and a new battery it has ran like brand new. I unfortunately am quite large for it (250 Lbs). I bottomed it once kinda fast and I run it very hard.

This weekend I heard a new sound. It ran sorta weird but the engine seemed fine.` I used to be an aircraft mechanic so I am fully comfortable being my own mech. I got the manual downloaded and it seems pretty good.

Upon inspection I found the impeller to be lose. I looked up through the grate and can see impeller is sitting off the splines a bit and I can see a seal on that shaft.

I pulled of the (?) steering thing (?) with the 4 long bolts. I also noticed a crack on the steering thing where the steer rod connects so I need to get a new one of those. My question is under the cone is there something I can tighten up to snug the impeller back up or are my problems going to require me to pull the entire drive section out?

Since I am going to be digging in to the drive/impeller can any of you suggest any after market parts I could use instead of original replacement parts to improve the performance?

I love the little thing. It cuts up in the water like no other ski's I see out there and is a blast to ride. I would also like any after market things I could do to improve the porpoising.

I am also about to buy a new ski. Either a 2008 RTX-X for 10999, 2009 GTX 155 for 10699 or 2009 GTI for 9699. I am also going to take a look and see if there are any of those Yamaha FX Cruiser SHO left overs from 2008 at a good price.