Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Still crazy after all these beers Mac Daddy Racing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    St. Paul MN
    Posts
    290

    Help with home computer network

    I work with industrial automation (PLC's and PC's) but I am new to the ethernet networks. I have a desk top unit at home with DSL (stop it) and I would like to create a network at home to get the TV, X-box, Desktop and future laptop hooked up. The only item that would be wire-less is the laptop. What do I need to get started? Router? cables? ethernet switch/hub???

    Any tech savy network guys/gals on here today??? I know someone has done this and may have been as unknowledgable as I am now.

    Thanks,, MAC


  2. #2
    paulthepwner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Middle River, MD
    Posts
    214
    Quote Originally Posted by Mac Daddy Racing View Post
    I work with industrial automation (PLC's and PC's) but I am new to the ethernet networks. I have a desk top unit at home with DSL (stop it) and I would like to create a network at home to get the TV, X-box, Desktop and future laptop hooked up. The only item that would be wire-less is the laptop. What do I need to get started? Router? cables? ethernet switch/hub???

    Any tech savy network guys/gals on here today??? I know someone has done this and may have been as unknowledgable as I am now.

    Thanks,, MAC
    If you go to BB to get a wireless router, it will have an input to plug in your DSL modem, and then 4 or 5 ports to plug in your other stuff. That will cover all of your equipment. Beyond that you want ethernet cables to hook up the non-wireless stuff. I wouldn't suggest buying them at BB, they'll rip you off. Home Depot/Lowes are usually cheaper, but if you've got time to waste, ordering them online from somewhere like monoprice http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10208 is a good way to go. They'll be 90% cheaper than BB and better quality. You can pick your color and length, order, and go.

  3. #3
    TEX-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pecos, TX
    Posts
    210
    Quote Originally Posted by Mac Daddy Racing View Post
    I work with industrial automation (PLC's and PC's) but I am new to the ethernet networks. I have a desk top unit at home with DSL (stop it) and I would like to create a network at home to get the TV, X-box, Desktop and future laptop hooked up. The only item that would be wire-less is the laptop. What do I need to get started? Router? cables? ethernet switch/hub???

    Any tech savy network guys/gals on here today??? I know someone has done this and may have been as unknowledgable as I am now.

    Thanks,, MAC
    what the h*ll did you just say?

  4. #4
    There is no VooDoo like BadVooDoo NeVerMind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hammond, IN
    Posts
    413
    Here is what you are going to need...

    If you are able to run Cat 5 in your house. you can pick up bulk cable, connectors and crimp tool pretty cheap.. I'd add to that list a few wall plates and you will have a pretty nice looking hard wired network.

    If not you will need to get wireless devices for your PC, XBox and Converter box.. They can get pricey, so I recommend wired networks if possible.

    In either cases, you will need a wireless Router.. Don't scrimp here.. the better the router, the fewer issues you will have with it down the road.. I lean towards b/g/n routers, that way, you have most protocols covered.

    Take a look at the pic to see my ideal layout. PM me if you have questions.

    Thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Network.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	19.5 KB 
ID:	137219  

  5. #5
    get a DLINK DIR-655 Wireless Router... most reliable router i have found to date, and EASY to setup.. i have not found a negative review on this one yet... i use it as well as many of my friends who i have recommended it to and non have had any issue with it

  6. #6
    Still crazy after all these beers Mac Daddy Racing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    St. Paul MN
    Posts
    290
    Thanks to all that replied or PM'd. It seems much easier than I thought (easier than serial networks (RS422-485) and multiplexer switch housings, old school). I'll look online for the parts, cables I can make (we are making them at work and I can use the tool for home use). I can also add the wires to the walls as the lower level has a suspended ceiling (easy removal).

    This place is awesome!!! Find info on Ski's and networks. Who Knew!!

  7. #7
    Moderated
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3,711
    dlink sux, go linksys if you really must buy cheap stuff.

    personally I would just buy a Cisco 877w , set it up once and never bother with it again but then again I do things properly when it comes to networking but Cisco is not for non tech folk

  8. #8
    Still crazy after all these beers Mac Daddy Racing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    St. Paul MN
    Posts
    290
    Work is sending a bunch of us Automation guys back to school to get Cisco and Windows Certified. Resume add on....

  9. #9
    axgrider73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    2,059
    Keep in mind that even with encryption enabled, a wireless network can be compromised.

  10. #10
    Still crazy after all these beers Mac Daddy Racing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    St. Paul MN
    Posts
    290
    Yeah, I've heard that is an issue. Any way to block all but the selected I.P. Addresses for desired equipment??

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Honda f12 x help with computer greddy emanage
    By Boosted Honda in forum Honda Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 09:02 AM
  2. Need help with pump issue
    By Flyer in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-23-2006, 05:40 PM
  3. Help with stock prop and RXT stage 2
    By Kinchyle in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-18-2006, 08:36 AM
  4. Need help with 04 S.C. rebuild
    By Turbo Todd in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2006, 08:03 PM
  5. Help with Riva air filter kit
    By 818RXP in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-19-2005, 06:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •