Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Still crazy after all these beers Mac Daddy Racing's Avatar

Help with home computer network

I work with industrial automation (PLC's and PC's) but I am new to the ethernet networks. I have a desk top unit at home with DSL (stop it) and I would like to create a network at home to get the TV, X-box, Desktop and future laptop hooked up. The only item that would be wire-less is the laptop. What do I need to get started? Router? cables? ethernet switch/hub???

Any tech savy network guys/gals on here today??? I know someone has done this and may have been as unknowledgable as I am now.

Thanks,, MAC

Quote Originally Posted by Mac Daddy Racing View Post
    I work with industrial automation (PLC's and PC's) but I am new to the ethernet networks. I have a desk top unit at home with DSL (stop it) and I would like to create a network at home to get the TV, X-box, Desktop and future laptop hooked up. The only item that would be wire-less is the laptop. What do I need to get started? Router? cables? ethernet switch/hub???

Any tech savy network guys/gals on here today??? I know someone has done this and may have been as unknowledgable as I am now.

Thanks,, MAC
    If you go to BB to get a wireless router, it will have an input to plug in your DSL modem, and then 4 or 5 ports to plug in your other stuff. That will cover all of your equipment. Beyond that you want ethernet cables to hook up the non-wireless stuff. I wouldn't suggest buying them at BB, they'll rip you off. Home Depot/Lowes are usually cheaper, but if you've got time to waste, ordering them online from somewhere like monoprice http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10208 is a good way to go. They'll be 90% cheaper than BB and better quality. You can pick your color and length, order, and go.

Quote Originally Posted by Mac Daddy Racing View Post

Thanks,, MAC
    what the h*ll did you just say?

There is no VooDoo like BadVooDoo NeVerMind's Avatar