Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

96 780SLX. Just Rebuilt, No Running Sluggish

Hey Guys, I have a 1996 Polaris SLX 780. I was given this jet ski to help repair for a friend. I'm no expert, but figured I'd give it a shot.
    Here is what I completed repair/replace on:

Replace Rings and Pistons
    All new gaskets
    New plugs
    Cleaned out fuel system (removed tank and cleaned out)
    Did a complete Carb rebuild kit

The jet ski has under 100 hours on it, and my friend said it got water in it and was running prior to him breaking down. He bought all the parts listed above, but never got around to putting it all together. I bought the service manual and put it all together for him.

The ski starts right up, however, when you go to give it gas, it sounds very "Sluggish". You can rev it and it just sounds like it's dieing. I did a compression check and compression is good. I check the plugs after firing and it seems to be running a little rich, but couldn't run it long enough out of the water to get a good feel.

ANY IDEAS? My buddy wants to take this on a family vacation next weekend and I don't know what to do. I have come this far, I want to get this thing running good!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada

Click here for the Polaris service manuals.

Work through the engine diagnostics section.

Have you confirmed that all three cylinders actually have a strong spark?
    Spark plug wires going to the correct cylinders?

Are the carb screws set according to the Polaris manual specs?

Click here for some common Fuji engine issues.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    Cleveland OH
    Welcome to the Hulk.

Water ingestion may have lead to an out of phase crank. Do a crank index test to confirm it's not out.