Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    chrome1021's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    11

    VTS won't work...any ideas?

    So I have an '05 RXP with no mods except for the metal washers and ceramic bearings in the SC. I took it out today for the first time this summer and when I put the key on the post, my display reads "SENSOR" and my VTS will not work. Also, there is no display to show me the position of the VTS.

    So, I checked the fuses and as many wires as I could see without tools and they all seem to be fine. But it runs fine, so I rode it for a while anyway.

    Where would be a good place to look? I was thinking maybe there is a problem with the feedback coming from the VTS actuator?

    Any help would be appreciated!!!


  2. #2
    Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    9,202
    +1
    673
    Your ski has dropped it's memory... unfortunately you will need to take it to the dealer for reprogramming with BUDS

  3. #3
    I know about someone with RXP 2007 with VTS Problem that resetting (Reprogramming) solved.
    I Hope that the same for you.

    Good Luck!

  4. #4
    Richieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia.
    Posts
    1,001
    Yep, you need it checking in the VTS box on Settings tab page,..write Data... and bam, it works again.

    Only way am afraid.

  5. #5
    King_Of_Fun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Catawba Island, Ohio
    Posts
    2,703
    It's a known problem that happens to RXPs when the battery is disconnected for an extended period... Ron

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    697
    +1
    3
    I had the same issue, turns out my connection was unplugged. it was the connection on the side of the ski towards the back. there are three connectors right there, and one came undone. Display said same thing, sensor.

  7. #7
    Richieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia.
    Posts
    1,001
    Yes, this causes it not to work, but if the display shows nothing, then it need to be re-activated with BUDS.

    Unless you live near me, in which case I'll do it for $25, the dealer is the only option.

  8. #8
    chrome1021's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    11
    I talked to the dealer today and they said that they couldn't do anything until they hooked it up to their computer. They also said that they are 2 weeks behind, and they are an hour and a half drive away!

    So I am getting pretty desperate to find a way to fix it myself. Any more ideas?

  9. #9
    Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    9,202
    +1
    673
    Quote Originally Posted by chrome1021 View Post
    I talked to the dealer today and they said that they couldn't do anything until they hooked it up to their computer. They also said that they are 2 weeks behind, and they are an hour and a half drive away!

    So I am getting pretty desperate to find a way to fix it myself. Any more ideas?
    No matter what you do... you will need BRP's utility s.w. to resolve your problem. If your in a hurry... you might try giving Riva a call and see if they could help you out, but you will have to pull your ECU and send it to them if there willing to do it for you.

  10. #10
    chrome1021's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    11
    So I broke down and took it in to the dealer. They said that its the whole sensor and control box on the actuator for the VTS. $278 for parts, $63 for labor.
    What do you guys think? Am I getting screwed, or is this legitimate?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2014 FZR won't go over 40mph or 5700 RPM's? Any idea?
    By Dragdaddy71 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 06-12-2016, 03:45 PM
  2. Added an Advent CDI, now my tiny tach won't work? Any idea?
    By thetolleyman in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2015, 04:51 PM
  3. 1999 Polaris Genesis 1200 Won't REV. Any ideas?
    By parson.phillip in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-21-2014, 10:47 PM
  4. 1999 Polaris Genesis 1200 Won't REV. Any ideas?
    By parson.phillip in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2014, 08:16 PM
  5. Speedo doesn't work.... Any ideas ??
    By MuskokaCanada in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2011, 05:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •