Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    just GOT TO DO IT! great lakes gpr 1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    muskegon michigan
    Posts
    798

    Pro-tec CDI Mods?

    Has any one tried the pro-tec cdi that they mod for higher rev, and "better timming curve"? does any one Know any thing about IT?


  2. #2
    spud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oceanside, California
    Posts
    1,347
    +1
    2
    Here is the difference in timing. It gives a little more advance on top. The powervalve controller opens the valves when you want them to open.

    Timing Curve Charts

    GP1200R / XL1200 LTD
    RPM Modified OEM
    2000 17 BTDC 17 BTDC
    3000 18 BTDC 18 BTDC
    4000 18 BTDC 18 BTDC
    5000 18 BTDC 24 BTDC
    6000 24 BTDC 18 BTDC
    7000 15 BTDC 13 BTDC
    7200 14 BTDC
    7500 14 BTDC

    GP800
    RPM Modified OEM
    2000 18 BTDC 18 BTDC
    3000 16 BTDC 15 BTDC
    4000 15 BTDC 17 BTDC
    5000 19 BTDC 20 BTDC
    6000 20 BTDC 19 BTDC
    7000 19 BTDC 12 BTDC
    7200 14 BTDC
    7500 12 BTDC

  3. #3
    YudLuz2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Flowood MS
    Posts
    1,647
    +1
    110
    One my single pipe 1200 setup using the 3 degree keyway I
    picked up addition 80 rpms when I added the Pro-tec ignition on top of that mod. Boat ran 77.2 mph in 60 degree temps.

  4. #4
    spud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oceanside, California
    Posts
    1,347
    +1
    2
    Ben did you rec ride it much at 6000 rpms? Did you use 93 octane gas? I have a Pro-Tec ignition and the key. I was talking with Lowell and he was skeptical about that spike in the oem curve. Yamaha did that for epa tests.

  5. #5
    YudLuz2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Flowood MS
    Posts
    1,647
    +1
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by spud
    Ben did you rec ride it much at 6000 rpms? Did you use 93 octane gas? I have a Pro-Tec ignition and the key. I was talking with Lowell and he was skeptical about that spike in the oem curve. Yamaha did that for epa tests.
    Yes, i cruised all day at 6000, used 93 octane. The 3rd cylinder still drops the timing curve way down at this point, so I don't think you should be in much danger. I never tested the setup in 100 degree temps, so things could be different under certain conditions. Overproping and bringing the revs down to 7000 to 7050 and accelerating from a dead stop did cause some slight pinging under a heavy load. So you can push the setup past its limits. But to be honest I think its probably just as safe as a advent stinger curve.

  6. #6
    spud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oceanside, California
    Posts
    1,347
    +1
    2
    Thanks Ben.

    Robsauto is getting an Advent that has a remote switch. He will be able to change curves without opening the box. It is a module that plugs into the unit and resides outside the box. I guess $65 extra. Thatway you could make a couple speed runs, switch it over the next time out for rec riding.

    That would be cool Yam 94 glass water in the morning. Yam 59 the rest of the day.

  7. #7
    XL1200Ltd-Keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    506

    Pro Tec

    Attachment 1466

    Here is a pic of the Advent remote switch. It makes for true back to back testing!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	XL1200Ltd-Keith (17).jpg 
Views:	179 
Size:	1.47 MB 
ID:	6271  

  8. #8
    spud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oceanside, California
    Posts
    1,347
    +1
    2
    That is cool.

  9. #9
    OCFZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Foothill Ranch, Ca
    Posts
    200
    tested new Advent this weekend with remote switch and gained 100 rpm's and great acceleration using the Yamaha 84 curve on my 1390 BB. I first tried the "stock" yamaha 83 curve and my ski bogged - ??? I then switched between the Yamaha 84 and 59 had and had signifcant improvements. Several hours after that my ski started to bog heavily and then finally would not shut off with the stop switch or pulling the lanyard. I had to yank off a plug wire. I think the Advent is "toast"! I'm going to return it directly to Advent this week for a new one.

  10. #10
    carbuff91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Glen Burnie, Md
    Posts
    198
    Where did you all find the Advent Remote switch at? I don't see it on their site...do they sell it or someone else? What was the cost?

    Steve

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FS - Parts Pro Tec CDI (working!) for 65U motor
    By PeteSkeet in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-03-2013, 03:02 PM
  2. pro-tec cdi
    By quacked1up in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2012, 06:34 AM
  3. Has anybody tried a Pro-tec cdi ?
    By Budman in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-30-2012, 07:23 AM
  4. GPR Pro-tec CDI box????
    By GPRFrank in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-08-2009, 08:28 PM
  5. pro-tec CDI
    By deereman in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-23-2009, 02:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •