i went airborne and something broke in the driveline?

Hi there fellow old schoolers. I am new to waverunner mechanics but got a 92 waverunner111 i picked up that was sitting for 1 to 2 years running. The engine ran great and really flew. Specs say 45mph but it felt like faster. Anyhow i came up to the crossroads of the ICW and the inlet and hit some chop. I got airborne and i guess the jet revved and something let loose. I was dead in the water. Motor still ran until it got hot enough to trip the sensor. My question is what is the most likely culprit and where do i start to look. I am assuming there is some type of tourque transfer going on at the shaft. Is there a coupler that lets go before much damage is done? Can anyone give me an idea of how many parts i should replace once i have it open? Such as impeller, impeller housing, bearings. I guess i start by dropping the plate on the bottom for inspection. I have the manual but would like some info on what usually occurs on an older ski of this model when this happens. I shut it down pretty quick so i dont think there is engine damage, mostly driveline. Just the impellar and housing look to cost 500$ alone. That blows because i only paid 250$ for the ski. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

i'd bet your impellar is ok and also your housing... what may have gone was your impellar shaft or your coupler may have major munched it self...'broke apart'.. with out a jet pump the engine will overheat as the pump also supplys the water to cool the motor.. i'd look at the coupler first ,then if thats ok pull the pump assembly...