Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Just want to ride.
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sumner, WA
    Posts
    413
    +1
    5

    Display/Electrical Issue , Part 2

    2 weekends ago, the wife's 03 1300r started acting up - randomly 'beeping' and resetting the display while running - as if the start button was being pushed again and again. I checked the wiring for the switch, and took it apart looking for signs of a short - nothing.

    Last weekend, more of the same, until the display simply went blank - now, no beeps, no display, nothing. SO -

    1. There are 5 separate wire bundles from the display; buzzer, fuel level, oil level, ECM, and speedo. Does the display get power from the ECM?

    2. Can the ECM be BAD, and the ski still run? I'm trying to isolate the display as the problem, vs the ECM, and the ski still starts/stops/run like a champ - I'm guessing that the ECM must still be okay if the ski is functional?

    3. IF the display is shot, is this a PITA to remove/replace? I'm trying to save the big $$$ if possible, but will obviously replace if this is the problem.

    Thanks for the help everyone!


  2. #2
    r33pwrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sammamish Washington
    Posts
    4,216
    +1
    360
    do you have another display to try? I assume you looked at all of you rconnections on the harness? If need be we could pull mine and try it (only about 15 minutes to pull it)

  3. #3
    Just want to ride.
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sumner, WA
    Posts
    413
    +1
    5
    Thanks R33pwrd;
    I have my 03's display to swap to verify; I was hoping to avoid tearing into both skis to troubleshoot. Have you removed the display before? If it's an easy thing to do, I'll just pull mine to test in her ski; any hints as to what/how to proceed? I have the manual, and will use it as my guide, but I'm all for any tips!

    Also, do you (or anyone else, for that matter) know if the power for the display comes from the ECM? I'm wondering if that connection could be the culprit?

    Thanks for the help!
    Sean

  4. #4
    r33pwrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sammamish Washington
    Posts
    4,216
    +1
    360
    call me later tonight (after 3:30) 425-***-****brad
    Last edited by r33pwrd; 02-22-2010 at 11:33 PM. Reason: remove number

  5. #5
    fx160's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    gold coast australia
    Posts
    2,409
    +1
    193
    is it possible that the plug the dealer plugs into for diagnostics could be loose
    that will disconect the display but still let the ski run normal

    kev

  6. #6
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,800
    +1
    449

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by fx160
    is it possible that the plug the dealer plugs into for diagnostics could be loose
    that will disconect the display but still let the ski run normal

    kev
    The grey one.

  7. #7
    Just want to ride.
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sumner, WA
    Posts
    413
    +1
    5
    fx160,

    I'm not sure about the diagnostic plug; I'll have to check both the manual and the wiring later tonight. Does anyone know if that's the case?

    Brad - I'll call you when I'm off work (7pm or so tonight) - Thanks for the offer of help!

    Sean

  8. #8
    Just want to ride.
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sumner, WA
    Posts
    413
    +1
    5
    WFO,

    I missed your post on the grey one - is this correct? If that plug is loose/disconnected, will the ski run fine, with no display? I'm dying to get home now and check for that plug!

    Also, can I breathe easy about the ECM? It's 400 bucks for a display, and 740 bucks for an ECM; man do I want this to be a !#$% plug!

    Thanks for the input!

    Sean

  9. #9
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,800
    +1
    449
    Yes, they grey plug is the diagnostic connector. I think it has 3 wires. Try that one.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2000 virage tx electrical issues
    By gordon24 in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2008, 09:42 AM
  2. 96 XP 800 Electrical Issues
    By Schwarzenegger in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-11-2008, 10:07 AM
  3. Ultra 250x issue.. part 2 w/video
    By john07ex in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-05-2008, 08:07 PM
  4. SL900 Electrical Issues
    By Drew13 in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-23-2007, 09:10 PM
  5. Electrical Issue?
    By washingtonrider in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-17-2006, 07:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •