Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

94 SL650 High Idle

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to the PWC world. I had a 93 Yamaha VXR PRO for the last couple years, then sold it. I just bought a 94 SL650 and 92 SL650 this past weekend.

They are in descent shape and they fired right up and idled well when I inspected them, so I decided to buy for $2,000 on a nice Karavan trailer. I thought I got a nice deal?? What do you all think??

Anyway, I was getting the skis ready for some fun this weekend and I fired up the 94 to make sure everything was good still. It smoked like crazy, I assume since it was fogged for the winter and hasn't been in the water and really run yet. But also, seemed like the idle was pretty high....no tach on the unit but I'd guess like 1/2-3/4 throttle. It dies immediately when pulling the lanyard and also if you choke it out it dies (w/ lanyard in) within 2 seconds....so I didn't think it was a lean/runaway/glow-plug condition or air leak?

What are your thoughts? Carbs need adjusted? Throttle cable needs adjusted? Any help is greatly appreciated. This seems like a great site with tons of knowledgable people.

Thanks!

Trey

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Click below for service manuals and other useful info.

You can use a clip on tachometer to set idle speed, in the water. Can still be strapped to the trailer, which is also a good way to check for water leaks, and anything else, since you can leave the seat off while they are still strapped on the trailer.

Click here for some introduction info and links.

Work through the maintenance section of the manual, and do some basic engine checks;
    Compression, correct spark plugs, remove and clean both ends of both battery cables, fuel system (hoses, filters, etc).