Thread: mixing oils

mixing oils

I'm new to the sport, and am trying to learn the ropes. I got the expensive oil recommended by the dealer for my '01 polaris virage txi and '97 seadoo gtx and then found some similar oil at autozone for significantly cheaper. Is there any problem with mixing different brands of oil if they are both synthetic 2 cycle oil?

from what i've read there is no harm done by mixing oils of similiar make up. what i do to make sure is i put the two oils half and half in a glass jar and see if they separate. if they mix together your good, if there is a separation between densities than your not good.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by winslowlds View Post
    I'm new to the sport, and am trying to learn the ropes. I got the expensive oil recommended by the dealer for my '01 polaris virage txi and '97 seadoo gtx and then found some similar oil at autozone for significantly cheaper. Is there any problem with mixing different brands of oil if they are both synthetic 2 cycle oil?

Should be fine. The main one that does not mix with other oils is the Klotz BeNOL oils. Watch out on the TXI with oils and make sure it is safe for the oil injections with the polaris. You do not want to learn the hard way and take out an injector and engine.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by winslowlds View Post
    I'm new to the sport, and am trying to learn the ropes.

I got the expensive oil recommended by the dealer for my '01 Polaris Virage TXi and '97 seadoo gtx and then found some similar oil at autozone for significantly cheaper.

Is there any problem with mixing different brands of oil if they are both synthetic 2 cycle oil?
    Sea-Doo has a particular specification for the oil in many of their 2-stroke engines, API TC (low ash).