Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    indiana
    Posts
    9

    will upgade kit parts work on 00 virage 700

    will the upgade kit parts (2873022) work on my 00 virage 700. i need a stator but can buy the kit for less. thank you jim


  2. #2
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,569
    +1
    1,272
    I think it will work. Don't see why not

    Try both CDI, see if one has more power (spark advance) at mid-range RPM than the other.

    Have a look at this thread.

  3. #3
    casey67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Lemont,IL
    Posts
    2,570
    +1
    34
    The major difference I know of is the 96-99 had a round rubber grommet,that is held in place with 2 screws/bracket. Where the stator wires leave the stator housing.

    2000 and newer use a "U" shaped grommet that seals the stator wires/housing.

  4. #4
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,569
    +1
    1,272
    Quote Originally Posted by casey67 View Post
    The major difference I know of is the 96-99 had a round rubber grommet,that is held in place with 2 screws/bracket. Where the stator wires leave the stator housing.

    2000 and newer use a "U" shaped grommet that seals the stator wires/housing.
    Would the update kit stator cable (designed to retro-fit a 1996-1999 engine) fit into the U shaped grommet on the 2000 stator housing?

  5. #5
    casey67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Lemont,IL
    Posts
    2,570
    +1
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    Would the update kit stator cable (designed to retro-fit a 1996-1999 engine) fit into the U shaped grommet on the 2000 stator housing?
    I'll take a look later today.

  6. #6
    casey67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Lemont,IL
    Posts
    2,570
    +1
    34
    It looks like the round grommet(that normally exits from the rear of the housing,just above the starter) Is a bit short,I'm sure you could lube the wires and pull them through further. The round grommet is also smaller than the U-shaped plug.

    The 2000 700 housing I looked at has the bolt holes-threaded. you would need to drill out the hole for the wires and plug off the old u-shaped hole at the top of the housing.

  7. #7
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,569
    +1
    1,272
    Good info to add to the knowledge base

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Does/will this part work on a 2011 FZS
    By Rock918 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-09-2015, 08:30 AM
  2. Will YDIS 1.33 work on a 2012 FZS?
    By suzuki_gixxer in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-30-2013, 04:33 PM
  3. Will YDIS 1.33 work on a 2012 FZS?
    By suzuki_gixxer in forum Yamaha ECU Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2013, 08:45 AM
  4. will sho reflashed ecu work on a fzr?
    By wave15stx in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-15-2011, 02:46 PM
  5. Will 550sx, 650sx handlepole work on 750sx?
    By ronnoc2 in forum Kawasaki Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 10:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •